Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Committee TERMS OF REFERENCE

January 2018

These Terms of Reference are to be read in conjunction with Council's Advisory Committees Core Terms of Reference 2017.

1. Primary Purpose

- 1.1 To advise Council on the views, needs and interests of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in the Parramatta area as they relate to issues that fall within the parameters of City of Parramatta Council's authority and responsibilities.
- 1.2 To provide advice, input and feedback in City of Parramatta Council's business and affairs relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people within the LGA including appropriate approaches for consultation with the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.
- 1.3 To provide advice, input and feedback in City of Parramatta Council's work to promote an increased knowledge and understanding of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture and society in the wider community.

2. Roles and Responsibilities

- 2.1 To provide advice, input and feedback to Council on the needs, issues and interests of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in the area as they relate to Council business and responsibilities.
- 2.2 To work collaboratively in developing strategies to address these needs, issues and interests that Council could include in current and future work plans.
- 2.3 To provide a forum for indigenous and non indigenous community members to raise and address issues and needs
- 2.4 To report back to individuals, organisations and networks on Council's role, responsibilities and decisions relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
- 2.5 To liaise with the local Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities to identify and represent issues affecting these communities
- 2.6 To work with Council to develop and promote appropriate celebrations of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture including Sorry Day and NAIDOC week.
- 2.7 To provide advice on how particular Council projects may identify, reflect and protect Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander heritage and culture.
- 2.8 To support and co-operate with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and other organisations committed to increasing reconciliation, and respect for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture, history, past and present.

3. Membership

- 3.1 There will be a maximum of 13 members.
- 3.2 Applicants must demonstrate skills and capacity to contribute to the Committee.

- 3.3 Applicants must be:
 - 3.3.1 Aboriginal or Torres Strait islander people who live, work, study or have a strong commitment to the Parramatta LGA or
 - 3.3.2 A member of the tribal Dharug people or
 - 3.3.3 An individual or representative of a local community organisations with a demonstrated commitment, sensitivity to and understanding of issues relating to the local Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander people.
- 3.4 Dual membership of this Committee and other Council ATSI advisory groups or forums is precluded.

5. Observers

- 5.1 Non-members of the Committee are able to attend with the permission of the convenor and Chairperson of the Committee.
- 5.2 Observers are able to sit at the table and participate in discussions or commentary however they must identify themselves as Observers at the beginning of the meeting; are not able to propose recommendations and will have no voting rights.

6. Managing culturally sensitive matters

- 6.1 When an issue that is identified as culturally sensitive by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander members is to be discussed and resolved, the Committee is able to proceed according to cultural practice i.e. with only Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people present at the time of discussion.
- 6.2 When a culturally sensitive issue arises non Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people will be required to leave the room.
- 6.3 Any decisions arising from 6.1 and 6.2 will be relayed to all members of the Advisory Committee as appropriate when they return to the meeting.
- 6.4 When Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander members identify that an issue relates to Traditional Owners, this issue will be referred to Council's Darug Reference Panel for panel members' deliberation and decision.
- 6.5 The convenor of this Committee will advise the Council Officer responsible for convening the Darug Reference Panel to include the issue on the agenda of the Panel's next meeting. The deliberations and decisions of the Panel will then be provided back to the Committee through the relevant Council Officers.

7. Committee planning and capacity building

- 7.1 All members of the Committee are required to attend Induction training.
- 7.2 At the beginning of the Committee's term and then at the beginning of each calendar year, members will work with the Committee convenor to evaluate their work over the preceding year; develop a plan for the year ahead including their identified priorities; indicators of their effectiveness and any additional training they require to enable them to undertake this work.

8. Frequency of Meetings

8.1 The Committee will meet monthly on the fourth Tuesday of the month from 6:00pm-8:00pm.

9. Annual NSW Local Government Aboriginal Network Conference:

- 9.1 Consistent with Department of Local Government programs for the encouragement of Aboriginals to stand for Local Government, Council allocates funding within the Social and Community Services budget for attendance by Members of the ATSI Advisory Committee at future Local Government Aboriginal Network Conferences as follows:-
 - 9.1.1 \$2000 per annum be granted to the Committee, who shall elect two (2) indigenous representatives of that Committee to attend one (1) conference per year; and
 - 9.1.2 The Committee direct these funds to defray costs towards registration, travelling costs and accommodation at those conferences.

10. Dissemination of Information to the Community

10.1 Minutes of meetings will be sent to the Chairperson of all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander organisations in Parramatta and the Tribal Dharug Area, and to the Chairpersons of Gandangara Local Aboriginal Land Council (LALC), Deerubbin LALC, Metropolitan LALC and the NSW Aboriginal Land Council.

End.