alert City of Parramatta will soon no longer support this version of IE. Consider upgrading your browser now. Link

Bushland and Biodiversity

Wildlife protection areas

Wildlife protection areas are public places set apart for the protection of our native animals and their habitats under the NSW Companion Animals Act 1998

City of Parramatta has declared 10 wildlife protection areas. These include:

  1. Beecroft South Bushland Reserve (Beecroft)

  2. Cox Park & Galaringi Reserve (Carlingford, Dundas Valley)

  3. Edna Hunt Sanctuary (Eastwood, Epping)

  4. Lake Parramatta Reserve (North Parramatta)

  5. Quarry Branch Creek (Northmead, Winston Hills)

  6. Terrys Creek & Vimiera Park (Epping, Eastwood)

  7. Upper Toongabbie Creek (Constitution Hill, Northmead, Winston Hills)

  8. Vineyard Creek Reserve (Dundas, Oatlands, Telopea).

  9. Hunts Creek and Seville Reserve (Carlingford, North Rocks)

  10. Darling Mills Creek (Northmead, North Rocks)

Map of Protected Wildlife Areas Parramatta

These areas have been identified as home to a large diversity of native animals. Cats are prohibited from entering these areas and dogs must be on a leash and remain on established tracks. 

When entering our wildlife protection areas, native vegetation, bush rock, fallen branches and other natural features must not be removed. Motor vehicles and motorbikes are not permitted.

Dumping of garden waste and other rubbish is not allowed and should be placed in the bins provided. Penalties apply.


Download the Wildlife Protection Areas brochure.