alert City of Parramatta will soon no longer support this version of IE. Consider upgrading your browser now. Link


Local Government Elections

Have your say on 4 September 2021

(Back to top)

City of Parramatta 2021 Local Government Elections

Local residents and ratepayers will have the opportunity on 4 September 2021 to vote for candidates as elected representatives of the City of Parramatta Council.  Voting is compulsory for all electors.

2021 NSW Local Government elections - Saturday 4 September


(Back to top)

The City of Parramatta Council has a total of fifteen (15) councillors, made up of three (3) councillors per ward.

Councillors were elected in September 2017 for a three-year term. Council elections were postponed from 2020 to September 2021 due to COVID-19.

The Lord Mayor is elected from amongst their peers for a term of four (4) years. The Deputy Lord Mayor may be elected for the same term as the Lord Mayor or a shorter term, as determined by the Council.

The City of Parramatta Council is divided into five (5) wards:


Comprising whole and parts of the suburbs of Dundas, Ermington, Oatlands and Telopea.


Comprising whole and parts of the suburbs of Beecroft, Eastwood, Epping and Dundas Valley.

North Rocks

Comprising whole and parts of the suburbs of Carlingford, North Parramatta, North Rocks and Winston Hills.


Comprising whole and parts of the suburbs of Constitution Hill, Old Toongabbie, Parramatta, Pendle Hill, Seven Hills, Toongabbie, Northmead, Wentworthville and Westmead.


Comprising whole and parts of the suburbs of Camellia, Clyde, Harris Park, Granville, Lidcombe, Mays Hill, Melrose Park, Merrylands, Newington, Rosehill, Rydalmere, Silverwater, Sydney Olympic Park and Wentworth Point.

Electors information

(Back to top)

Residential roll

The NSW Electoral Commissioner, in consultation with Council, will administer the local government elections for 2021. If you are a resident in the City of Parramatta Council area, you are eligible to vote.

Check if your enrolment details are up to date

For all enquiries, please call 1300 135 736.

Non-residential roll

If you are not a resident, you may still be entitled to vote if you own, occupy or lease property in the City of Parramatta Council area as a corporation, business or individual.

You may register in your own right as an individual or as a nominated company officer (or equivalent) of a corporation. Registration is not compulsory.

Completed application forms should be sent to City of Parramatta Council at, or by post to PO Box 32 Parramatta NSW 2124.

For further information on the non-residential roll, email


(Back to top)
Close of Non-residential Rolls (6pm) 26 July, 2021
Candidate nominations open 26 July, 2021
Lodgement of postal vote applications open 27 July, 2021
Close of candidate nominations (12 noon) 4 August, 2021
Close of registration of candidates and groups (12 noon) 4 August, 2021
Registration of electoral materials open 4 August, 2021
Pre-poll voting period opens* 23 August, 2021
Postal vote applications open (5pm) 30 August, 2021
Close of pre-poll voting period 3 September, 2021
Election day (voting from 8am-6pm)* 4 September, 2021
Return of postal votes close (6pm) 6 September, 2021

* Further details of pre-poll voting and polling locations will be released in future